My All-MWC Teams, Awards

by Jake Runyon

Overall, this MWC season was kind of a bummer. UNR finished 3rd in the conference, and they have an overall losing record. Even the leagues top two teams, SDSU and New Mexico would have struggled against last years team. While I would argue that this season of MWC hoops has been weaker than most years, it has still had its share of crazy finishes, wacky calls, and big plays.

I present to you, my all MWC teams.

1st Team All-MWC

-Cameron Bairstow, C, UNM
-Khem Birch, PF, UNLV
-Ryan Watkins, PF, Boise State
-Deonte Burton, SG, UNR
-Xavier Thames, PG, SDSU

2nd Team All-MWC

-Alex Kirk, C, UNM
-Josh Davis, PF, SDSU
-Larry Nance Jr, SF, Wyoming
-Kendall Williams, PG, UNM
-Tyler Johnson, SG, Fresno State

3rd Team All-MWC

-Roscoe Smith, PF, UNLV
-JJ Avila, C, Colorado State
-Winston Shepard, SF, SDSU
-Anthony Drmic, SG, Boise State
-Tre Coggins, G, Air Force

MWC Player of the Year: Cameron Bairstow, C, UNM
Defensive Player of the Year: Khem Birch, PF, UNLV
Freshman of the Year: Paul Watson, SF, Fresno State
Newcomer of the Year: Josh Davis, PF, SDSU
Coach of the Year: Steve Fisher,  SDSU

The MWC All Hair team:

-Sean Harris Flattop, Utah State

-Jalen Moore Afro, Utah State

-Josh Davis Cornrow, SDSU
-Cameron Bairstow Thor look, UNM
New Mexico v UNLV

-Khem Birch red swoosh, UNLV

MWC Dunk of the Year: Any Deonte Burton dunk, but I don’t think anything tops this baptism that took place against Ryan Watkins.


MWC Game of the Year: That is a tough one. I’ll go with SDSU @ Utah State over UNLV @ Boise State.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *